Skip to main content

Subsidiary Bodies of the Energy Charter Conference

The Energy Charter Conference has created various subsidiary bodies, which report to the Conference and deal with particular issues in greater detail.

Strategy Group

Chair: Ms Elzbieta Piskorz (Poland)

Vice-Chair: Ms Carmen Sofia Sanz Estébanez (Spain)

The Energy Charter Conference at its meeting on 9 December 2009 in Rome decided to establish the Energy Charter Strategy Group as a standing group. Among the key subjects of discussion will be the role of the Energy Charter Process in the global context, its added value for addressing common challenges as well as the possible enlargement of its constituency.

At its last meeting of 2017, the Strategy Group established a subgroup to conduct discussions on the potential modernisation of the Energy Charter Treaty.

Implementation Group

Chair: Mr Sergey Katyshev (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chair: Ms Klara Rakhmetova (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Parviz Garibzade (Azerbaijan)

Vice-Chair: Mr Johan Vetlesen (Norway)

The Implementation Group, under the supervision of the Energy Charter Conference, is the institutional body for the discussion of the implementation of the Energy Charter Treaty.

At its last meeting of 2017, the Implementation Group established a technical subgroup to conduct discussions on transit issues.

Budget Committee

Chair: Vacant position

Vice-Chair: Mr Wataru Takahama (Japan)

The functions and duties of the Budget Committee are, in general, to advise the Energy Charter Conference as necessary on questions relating to the financial administration of the Secretariat and the Programme of Work, as well as to carry out the tasks allotted to it in the Financial Regulations.